University Of Fort Hare Departments

University Of Fort Hare Departments

The Following are the lists of various Departments of University Of Fort Hare.


  1. Accounting
  2. African Languages
  3. Afrikaans
  4. Agricultural Economics & Extension
  5. Agronomy
  6. Biochemistry & Microbiology
  7. Botany
  8. Business Management
  9. Centre for Theology
  10. Chemistry
  11. Communication
  12. Computer Science
  13. Criminology
  14. Development Studies
  15. Economics
  16. English
  17. Fine Art
  18. Geography
  19. Geology
  20. GIS & Remote Sensing
  21. History
  22. Human Movement Studies
  23. Industrial Psychology
  24. Information Systems
  25. Library & Information Science
  26. Livestock & Pasture Science
  27. Mathematics
  28. Music
  29. Philosophy
  30. Physics
  31. Political Science
  32. Psychology
  33. Public Administration
  34. Social Work
  35. Sociology and Anthropology
  36. Statistics
  37. Zoology & Entomology
  38. Theology

University Of Fort Hare Departments, Vision

A vibrant, equitable and sustainable African university, committed to teaching and research excellence at the service of its students, scholars and the wider community.

University Of Fort Hare Departments, Mission

To provide high quality education of international standards contributing to the advancement of knowledge that is socially and ethically relevant and applying technological and socio-economic development of our nation and the wider world.


Integrity –  To respect and affirm the dignity, equality, freedom and rich cultural diversity of all human beings as the basis for peace and social justice, the pursuit of truth, intellectual honesty, and  openness to ideas.

Excellence – To be recognised as an international centre for excellence that is both rooted in its environment and sensitive to the challenges of human progress, and to foster a culture of teaching and learning and research excellence in the University as a basic minimum requirement for living up to the claim of being a site of knowledge generation.

Innovation – To focus on the challenges presented by new information technologies, information management systems and processes, and opportunities for innovation. And to do so in an enterprising way that benefits the University and humanity.

Ethics – The attainment of the highest professional and ethical standards in teaching, learning, research, community engagement and corporate governance.